Why Organizational Leadership?

My name is Xiaoteng Ma.  I am currently a senior at the University of Nevada, Reno, majoring in Business Management and minoring in Information Systems.  This blog will focus on organizational leadership and how you can become the best leader in your company, and possibly the world’s best boss (just like Michael Scott).

Michael Scott - World's Best Boss

One of the first things that I learned in my Management courses is the phrase that “people join organizations, but leave their bosses”.  This quote stood out to me because I have always wondered what it was about the bosses that made people want to leave them.  I kept thinking about this because I want to be a boss one day, but I definitely don’t want people to leave because of something I might have done to them, especially if I had control over it.

I’ve been in various leadership positions in the past three years.  Right now, I work as a supervisor where I oversee 100+ employees.  I have also been heavily involved in Greek Life, having taken exec positions in my own fraternity, as well as the Interfraternity Council, the governing body for all social fraternities on campus.  I’ve seen and tried some things that worked and some things that didn’t, and I’ve also dealt with people of all kinds of personalities.  As a person and a leader, I believe there is always room for growth and that a person should never settle for where they are now.  What I will be writing about can be applied not only at your job, but in other aspects of your life as well.

2 thoughts on “Why Organizational Leadership?

  1. Ben Martinez

    Awesome blog X. I love The Office, so great reference. I’ve always been a quiet leader, usually leading by example. Will be great to here some tips as well as insight from an expert.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

